Beware The Opportunistic Populism of Politician Wannabe Greg Strandberg #MTPOL

by William Skink

When I said posting would be light at RD I didn’t give a reason why, but that didn’t stop the self-appointed ratings analyst of the MT blogosphere, Greg Strandberg, from assuming it’s because there’s nothing to write about:

I can’t think of anything to blog about.

I’m not alone.

“Posting at RD will be light for the next month or two,” another MT blogger is saying today.

Again, I think it’s because there’s not much going on.

Nope, there are at least a half-dozen posts I want to write, but, unlike Greg Strandberg, I have a full time job and not enough time to do everything I want to do.

Speaking of jobs, despite one blogger’s claim they aren’t out there for him, there is apparently a workforce shortage in Missoula. I assume Greg Strandberg knows this since he reads and comments on nearly everything Missoula Current puts out. Maybe those kind of jobs are just beneath the talents of Greg Strandberg.

One talent Greg Strandberg has is getting other people to write about him, which this post is evidence of. So that’s annoying because I know no matter what this post says about Greg Strandberg, its existence is what Greg Strandberg wants.

Another thing Greg Strandberg wants is to be a politician. He’s certainly got the part-time work ethic and full-time self-promotion thing going, so eventually he’ll probably win something. Add to that his shameless attention-getting tactics with fat-bashing the Mayor, and one wonders if the sky is the limit for this aspiring council person.

Since Greg Strandberg wants a political job so bad, I offered my assistance with this glowing endorsement, but since then I have had to entertain the possibility that maybe, just maybe, Greg Strandberg is a populist fraud looking for any foothold into drawing benefits and achieving a platform where people actually have to take him seriously.

My ability to take Greg Strandberg’s strain of populism seriously was greatly diminished last summer when he wrote an ignorant letter to the editor crediting the building of the new Poverello Center with the perennial transient problem downtown.  I tried correcting his ignorance with a post titled Self-Promoter and Wannabe Politician Greg Strandberg Doesn’t Know Squat About Homelessness, but despite my best efforts I wasn’t able to change this very wrong assessment:

We created that problem by building the newfangled homeless shelter, prominently placed on Broadway. My how it draws in the young transients that choose a rag-tag existence of handouts as opposed to hard work!

I reread the comment thread of that post the other day because I was thinking of writing something about the Reserve Street camps and the fact they are flourishing this year worse than I’ve seen since I helped coordinate the volunteer cleanups three years ago. When I read Greg Strandberg’s responses to my attempts to set him straight, what I saw was a complete inability of this politician wannabe to give any ground, despite someone with actual direct experience countering his ignorant and easily disprovable assertions.

I have to admit, part of me is disappointed in myself for writing this post because it feeds Greg Strandberg. But another part of me, the part that won out, feels compelled to use Greg Strandberg as anecdotal evidence of the direction this type of hollow populism is taking us.

Greg Strandberg, imho, is nothing more than a shameless opportunist trying to scheme his way into a government job with benefits. Ignorantly bashing a homeless shelter and calling the Mayor fat and stupid are just the means to the end goal of getting elected.

If knocking on doors for one of his opponents will help keep Greg Strandberg from obtaining that coveted government paycheck, I may have to carve out some time in my busy schedule to keep this type of person from succeeding.

About William Skink

I'm a poet and political cynic living and writing in Montana. You can contact me here: willskink at yahoo dot com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beware The Opportunistic Populism of Politician Wannabe Greg Strandberg #MTPOL

Leave a Reply

